Anderson's Adult Bestsellers


Below are this week's Anderson's Adult Bestsellers

Book List
$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781476764023
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Touchstone Books, 10/2014
From actor Cary Elwes, who played the iconic role of Westley in "The Princess Bride," comes a first-person account and behind-the-scenes look at the making of the cult classic film filled with never-before-told stories, exclusive photographs, and interviews with costars Robin Wright, Wallace Shawn, Billy Crystal, Christopher Guest, and Mandy Patinkin, as well as author and screenwriter William Goldman, producer Norman Lear, and director Rob Reiner.
"The Princess Bride" has been a family favorite for close to three decades. Ranked by the American Film Institute as one of the top 100 Greates...more

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9780345531797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bantam, 2/2015

Laurie R. King’s New York Times bestselling novels of suspense featuring Mary Russell and her husband, Sherlock Holmes, are critically acclaimed and beloved by readers for the author’s adept interplay of history and adventure. Now the intrepid duo is finally trying to take a little time for themselves—only to be swept up in a baffling case that will lead them from the idyllic panoramas of Japan to the depths of Oxford’s most revered institution.
 
After a lengthy case that had the couple traipsing all over India, Mary Russell and...more


$27.95
ISBN-13: 9780451468086
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NAL Hardcover, 2/2015

In October 1969, William Albracht, the youngest Green Beret captain in Vietnam, took command of a remote hilltop outpost called Fire Base Kate, held by only 27 American soldiers and 150 Montagnard militiamen. He found their defenses woefully unprepared. At dawn the next morning, three North Vietnamese Army regiments—some 6,000 men—crossed the Cambodian border and attacked.
 
Outnumbered three dozen to one, Albracht’s men held off repeated ground assaults by communist forces with fierce hand-to-hand fighting, air support and a dangerously close B-52 strik...more


$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781594633669
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Hardcover, 1/2015

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

The Girl on the Train has more fun with unreliable narration than any chiller since Gone Girl. . . . [It] is liable to draw a large, bedazzled readership.”—The New York Times

“Like its train, the story blasts through the stagnation of these lives in suburban London and the reader cannot help but turn pages.”—The Boston Globe


Gone Girl fans will devour this psychological thriller.”—...more


$27.00
ISBN-13: 9781476746586
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner Book Company, 5/2014
NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST
From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant "New York Times" bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.
Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her w...more

$40.00
ISBN-13: 9780062345844
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Design, 2/2015

A Collectible Anthology of the 50 Most Inf luential Models in Fashion History

In Models of Influence, photographer, television host, and fashion authority Nigel Barker profiles fifty of the most noteworthy models from the 1940s to the present, revealing how their look or way of modeling not only made an indelible stamp on the industry but also influenced fashion design, the popular way of dress, and notions of female beauty worldwide.

Each of the book's eight chapters focuses on a distinct period, from the postwar modeling boom, which ushered in an era of models who communicated a retur...more


$14.95
ISBN-13: 9781616204518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 12/2014

A "New York Times" Bestseller, a #1 Indie Next Pick, and a #1 LibraryReads Selection This novel has humor, romance, a touch of suspense, but most of all love--love of books and bookish people and, really, all of humanity in its imperfect glory. Eowyn Ivey, author of" The Snow Child"A. J. Fikry, the irascible owner of Island Books, has recently endured some tough years: his wife has died, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and his prized possession--a rare edition of Poe poems--has been stolen. Over time, he has given up on people, and even the books in his store, ...more


$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780062376336
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company, 11/2014

NOW A BLOCKBUSTER MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY CLINT EASTWOOD--NOMINATED FOR SIX ACADEMY AWARDS, INCLUDING BEST PICTURE

From 1999 to 2009, U.S. Navy SEAL Chris Kyle recorded the most career sniper kills in United States military history. His fellow American warriors, whom he protected with deadly precision from rooftops and stealth positions during the Iraq War, called him "The Legend"; meanwhile, the enemy feared him so much they named him al-Shaitan ("the devil") and placed a bounty on his head. Kyle, who was tragically killed in 2013, writes honestly about the pain of war--including the ...more


$17.00
ISBN-13: 9780143125471
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books, 5/2014

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the Un...more


Moriarty (Hardcover)

$26.99
ISBN-13: 9780062377180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper, 12/2014

Internationally bestselling author Anthony Horowitz's nail-biting new novel plunges us back into the dark and complex world of Detective Sherlock Holmes and Professor James Moriarty--dubbed "the Napoleon of crime"--in the aftermath of their fateful struggle at the Reichenbach Falls.

Days after Holmes and Moriarty disappear into the waterfall's churning depths, Frederick Chase, a senior investigator at New York's infamous Pinkerton Detective Agency, arrives in Switzerland. Chase brings with him a dire warning: Moriarty's death has left a convenient vacancy in London's criminal underworld. ...more


$9.99
ISBN-13: 9780553508758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Golden Books, 12/2014

Next in the EVERYTHING I NEED TO KNOW... series comes a book perfect for your valentine, your family, or YOU. Charming and witty as ever, this new treasury of insights reveals that, for all the love-related mystery and confusion we face as adults, those Little Golden Books may have had the answers all along.

...more

Chestnut Street (Paperback)

$15.95
ISBN-13: 9780804170086
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor, 2/2015

Chestnut Street is a place in Dublin where neighbors come and go. Behind their doors, we encounter very different people with different life circumstances, occupations, sensibilities—and stories.
        Maguire, the window cleaner, must do more than he bargained for in order to protect his son. Nessa Byrne’s aunt visits from America every summer, turning Nessa’s house—and world—upside down. Lilian, a generous girl with a big heart, has a fiancé whom no one approves of. Melly’s gossipy ways help Madame Magic, a self-styled...more


Ordinary Grace (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451645859
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books, 3/2014
"NEW YORK TIMES "BESTSELLER
WINNER OF THE 2014 EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL
WINNER OF THE 2014 DILYS AWARD
A "SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL "BEST BOOK OF 2013
""That was it. That was all of it. A grace so ordinary there was no reason at all to remember it. Yet I have never across the forty years since it was spoken forgotten a single word." "
New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson's Drugstore, and Hot Stuff comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time o...more

The Martian (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780553418026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books, 11/2014

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old "h...more


$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780345531780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bantam, 9/2014

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE

New York Times bestselling author Laurie R. King, beloved for her acclaimed Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series, consistently writes richly detailed and thoroughly suspenseful novels that bring a distant time and place to brilliant life. Now, in this thrilling new book, King leads readers into the vibrant and sensual Paris of the Jazz Age—and reveals the darkest secrets of its denizens.
 
Paris, France: September 1929. For Harris Stuyvesant, the assignment is a private...more