Anderson’s 2017 Mock Newbery Candidates

Anderson’s 2017 Mock Newbery Candidates 

All Rise for the Honorable PerryT. Cook by Leslie Connor.    A soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up.  A powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.  Grades 3-7

Best Man by Richard Peck.  A story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes.  Fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos will love this book.  Grades 3-7

Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan.    A powerful, riveting, and moving tale of two young boys fighting to make a difference and be counted as they struggle to escape a life of slavery in modern-day Ivory Coast.  Inspired by true-to-life events happening right now.  Grades 7 and up

Free Verse by Sarah Dooley.  A moving, bittersweet tale reminiscent of Sharon Creech’s Walk Two Moons set in a West Virginia coal-mining town. Grades 5-8

Full of Beans by Jennifer Holm.  Newbery Honor Book, Turtle in Paradise, is beloved by readers, and now they can return to this wonderful world through the eyes of Turtle's cousin, Beans.  Grades 3-7

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi.   The bestselling author of the Shatter Me series takes readers beyond the limits of their imagination in this captivating new middle grade adventure where color is currency, adventure is inevitable, and friendship is found in the most unexpected places.   Grades 4-7

Garvey’s Choice by Nikki Grimes   This emotionally resonant novel in verse celebrates choosing to be true to yourself.  Grades 5-8

Gertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley.  For fans of Three Times Lucky and The Penderwicks, this endearing new classic spins together sparkling humor, sizzle-pop writing, and a sassy main character with an unforgettable voice. Grades 3-6

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier.   A masterfully created moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.    Grades 3-6

Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill.  A young girl raised by a witch, a swamp monster, and a perfectly tiny dragon must unlock the dangerous magic buried deep inside her in this epic coming-of-age fairy tale from the highly acclaimed author of The Witch's Boy.   Grades 5-8

Inquisitor’s Tale by Adam Gidwitz.  An exciting and hilarious new medieval adventure about history, religion, and farting dragons, from the bestselling author of A Tale Dark and Grimm.  Grades 5-8

Moo by Sharon Creech.   In a mix of poetry and prose, this story follows one family’s move to rural Maine and the surprising connection between a girl and one very ornery cow named Zora. It's a lovely and uplifting story of how a little kindness can change lives, reminding us that if you're open to new experiences, life is full of surprises. Grades 3-7

Ms. Bixby’s Last Day by John David Anderson.  A realistic contemporary story of three boys and their relationships with a very special teacher.  Grades 3-7

Nine, Ten:  A September 11 Story by Nora Raleigh Baskin. From the critically acclaimed author of Anything But Typical comes a touching look at the days leading up to the tragic events of September 11, 2001 and how that day impacted the lives of four middle schoolers.  Grades 3-7

Pax by Sara Pennypacker.    A poignant and timeless tale of love and loyalty between a boy and his fox set during wartime.  Grades 3-7

Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo.   Two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable summer friendship.   Grades 5-8

Some Kind of Courage by Dan Gemeinhart.  The critically acclaimed author of The Honest Truth returns with a poignant, hopeful, and action-packed story about hearts that won't be tamed and spirits that refuse to be broken.  Grades 3-7

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand.  Reality and fantasy collide in this heartfelt and mysterious novel for fans of Counting by 7s and Bridge to Terabithia, about a girl who must save a magical make-believe world in order to save herself. Grades 5-8

Summerlost by Ally Condie.  A tender and compelling contemporary middle grade story about facing grief and finding friendship from the international bestselling author of the Matched series.  Grades  5-8

Tru & Nelle by Greg Neri.  Based on the real-life friendship of Truman Capote and Nelle Harper Lee in their small town of Monroeville, Alabama in 1930.  Misfits Tru and Nelle strike up a friendship and find a mystery to solve when someone breaks into the drugstore and steals some candy and a fancy brooch.  .Humor and heartache intermingle in this lively look at two budding writers in the 1930s South.  Grades 5-8

Unbound:  A Novel in Verse by Ann Burg.   With candor and compassion, Ann E. Burg unearths a startling chapter of American history -- the remarkable story of runaways who sought sanctuary in the wilds of the Great Dismal Swamp -- and creates a powerful testament to the right of every human to be free. Grades 3-6

What Elephants Know by Eric Dinerstein. In simple poetic prose, author Eric Dinerstein brings to life Nepal's breathtaking jungle wildlife and rural culture as seen through the eyes of a young outcast struggling to find his place in the world. Grades 3-7

When Friendship Followed Me Home by Paul Griffin.   A breathtaking middle-grade novel about happiness, loss, and an unforgettable dog named Flip.   Grades 5-8

Wild Robot by Peter Brown.  A heartwarming and action-packed novel about what happens when nature and technology collide. Grades 3-7

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk   A resilient young woman learns to stand against injustice at a critical crossroads in American history, told with the quiet strength and emotional depth of a new classic.  Grades 3-6

Participation and Voting Information Our voting will take place in January, prior to the Newbery Award announcement at ALA Mid-Winter.  Details to follow.  To participate in voting, we require the complete mock set or partial set (15 books) be purchased from Anderson’s. Special discounts apply.   Contact us to order your set or for more info.  Our in-store Mock Newbery book talk is on Saturday, Sept. 24 at 12:30 p.m. in the Naperville store.

Naperville:  Sue Skells, sue.skells@andersonsbookshop.com or 
Beth Thrall,   beth.thrall@andersonsbookshop.com  (630) 355-2665

Downers Grove:  Kathleen March, kathleen.march@andersonsbookshop.com (630) 963-2665

LaGrange:  Sara Mantia, sara.mantia@andersonsbookshop.com  (708) 582-6353

Default Description

Syndicate

Subscribe to Syndicate