The Clockmaker's Wife (Paperback)

The Clockmaker's Wife Cover Image
$16.99
Temporarily Out Of Stock - Can Be Ordered For You, Takes Extra Time.

Description


The world is at war. And time is running out...

London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter - leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the clockmaker who keeps Big Ben chiming.

When Arthur disappears, Nell is desperate to find him. But her search will lead her into far darker places than she ever imagined...

New York, Present Day. When Ellie discovers a beautiful watch that had once belonged to a grandmother she never knew, she becomes determined to find out what happened to her. But as she pieces together the fragments of her grandmother's life, she begins to wonder if the past is better left forgotten...

A powerful and unforgettable tale of fierce love, impossible choices and a moment that changes the world forever, perfect for fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Hazel Gaynor.

Readers love Daisy Wood:

'A ticking time-bomb of intrigue, wrapped around stark but rich descriptions of the Blitz. An unforgettable wartime debut.' Mandy Robotham, internationally bestselling author of The Berlin Girl

'I couldn't put it down. My favourite kind of historical fiction.' Reviewer

'Wonderful.' Reviewer

'Brilliantly captures the essence of 1940s England. Highly recommended ' Reviewer

Set between WWII and today, and America and England, I totally loved this outstandingly amazing book. Five stars ' Reviewer

'Daisy Wood skillfully navigates between two timelines, and her descriptions of the war are really masterful.' Reviewer

'The perfect blend of historical fiction and espionage.' Reviewer

'Beautifully written... I highly recommend this treasure ' Reviewer

About the Author


Daisy Wood worked in publishing for some years before leaving to concentrate on her own writing. She has had several children's books published, both historical and contemporary, and is happiest rooting about in the London Library on the pretext of research. She lives in south London and when not locked away in her study can be seen in various city parks, running after a rescue Pointer with a Basset Hound in tow.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780008444631
ISBN-10: 0008444633
Publisher: Avon Books
Publication Date: July 27th, 2021
Pages: 400
Language: English