The Stars of Whistling Ridge (Hardcover)

The Stars of Whistling Ridge Cover Image
$16.99
In Stock
Anderson's Bookshop Naperville
2 on hand, as of Sep 28 11:19am
(CH MIDDLE READERS)

Description


This enchanting story about magic, family, and the meaning of home from the award-winning author of Where the Watermelons Grow is perfect for fans of Corey Ann Haydu and Natalie Lloyd.

Ivy Mae Bloom is almost thirteen years old, her name is almost a complete sentence, and her family’s RV is almost a home. That’s one too many “almosts” for Ivy. She desperately wants a place to put down roots, but it’s her mama’s job as a fallen star to tend the magic underpinning the world—a job that’s kept Ivy’s family living on the road since before Ivy was born.

After Ivy steals Mama's entire supply of wish jars in the hopes of finding a place to call home, disaster strands her family in Whistling Ridge, North Carolina, with Mama's star sisters. Ivy falls for Whistling Ridge immediately—she just needs to convince her parents to stay.

But something is draining the magic from the town, and the star sisters can't pinpoint it. Ivy and her new friends find a clue in Whistling Ridge's history that might explain the mysterious threat...but if Whistling Ridge’s magic is fixed, Mama will need to move on. Ivy is faced with an impossible decision: How can she help the star sisters lift the curse if it means losing her best chance at a forever home?

About the Author


Cindy Baldwin is a fiction writer, essayist, and poet. She grew up in North Carolina and still misses the sweet watermelons and warm accents on a daily basis. As a middle schooler, she kept a book under her bathroom sink to read over and over while fixing her hair or brushing her teeth, and she dreams of writing the kind of books readers can’t bear to be without. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and daughter, surrounded by tall trees and wild blackberries. Where the Watermelons Grow is her debut novel and is followed by Beginners Welcome. Learn more about Cindy at www.cindybaldwinbooks.com.

Praise For…


"Delightfully voice-y and atmospheric, The Stars of Whistling Ridge is a gentle and magical story about family and the true meaning of home."
— Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor-winning author of Other Words for Home

“A refreshing breath of familiar magic. The Stars of Whistling Ridge inspires readers to see the extraordinary in everyday life.”
— Shelf Awareness (starred review)

“Detailed and evocative.”
Kirkus Reviews

Baldwin deftly pens a tribute to the places called home and the rigors of growing up.”
Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780063006416
ISBN-10: 0063006413
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: June 15th, 2021
Pages: 400
Language: English