On the Corner of Chocolate Avenue: How Milton Hershey Brought Milk Chocolate to America (Hardcover)

On the Corner of Chocolate Avenue: How Milton Hershey Brought Milk Chocolate to America By Tziporah Cohen, Steven Salerno (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tziporah Cohen, Steven Salerno (Illustrator)
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Anderson's Bookshop Naperville
1 on hand, as of Jan 26 1:43pm
(CH BIOGRAPHY)
Anderson's Bookshop Downers Grove
2 on hand, as of Jan 26 1:33pm
(CH BIOGRAPHY)

Description


The story of sweet success behind the Hershey's Kiss! The invention of America's quintessential milk chocolate bar is brought to vivid, delicious life in this STEAM picture book biography perfect for fans of Mr. Ferris and His Wheel and Snowflake Bentley. 

Hershey's milk chocolate is the quintessential American chocolate bar. But in Milton Hershey's time, chocolate was mostly a special treat for the very wealthy. Milton grew up poor and was no stranger to going hungry. When he got a job washing dishes in an ice cream parlor, he realized how happy sweets made people--and how much he liked making people happy.

Over the course of his career, Hershey failed to make many businesses profitable, yet ultimately cracked the formula on milk chocolate. Here was a chocolate that was delicious, didn't spoil, and could be sold at an affordable price in communities across America and the world. And here was a business that could provide good lives in a welcoming town and an education for those who couldn't afford it.

Perfect for the chocolate lover, inventor, and science-experiment-obsessed childhood reader, this biography shows that perseverance and persistence can lead to sweet success. 

About the Author


Tziporah Cohen has an MD from Harvard Medical School and an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her debut novel, No Vacancy, for middle grade readers, was published in September 2020 by Groundwood Books. She lives in Toronto, Canada with her husband and three children.

Steven Salerno has illustrated many popular picture books for children, including Brothers at Bat and The Fantastic Ferris Wheel (Holt). A graduate of Parsons School of Design, where he studied under famed author/illustrator Maurice Sendak, Steven's illustrations appear in the New York Times as well as magazines, advertising campaigns, product packaging, and retail interiors. He lives and works in New York City. www.stevensalerno.com

Product Details
ISBN: 9780358578758
ISBN-10: 0358578752
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: December 13th, 2022
Pages: 40
Language: English