The Wife Between Us: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Wife Between Us: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
Anderson's Bookshop Downers Grove
2 on hand, as of Dec 12 6:45am
(FICTION)
Anderson's Bookshop La Grange
2 on hand, as of Dec 13 6:45am
(FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Like the characters you’ll meet here, this one will keep you off balance and knock your socks off! Who is deceiving who? Whose version is the truth? The Wife Between Us is a guaranteed bestseller everyone will be talking about. The women unfurl an intricate web here: wife, future wife and loyal sister. Betrayal, plotting and tension all conspire to deal with one complicated man. Settle in, because once you start, you’re not going anywhere!

— Candy - Anderson's Bookshop Naperville

January 2018 Indie Next List


“Oh. My. God! For readers looking for a book that has an absorbing and unique plot line, intriguing but flawed characters, and commands attention until the end of the story, The Wife Between Us is perfect! Vanessa is suffering from a recent divorce when she learns that her ex will soon marry again. She simply cannot allow this to happen. Why? This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed and its ending will smack you between the eyes and take your breath away. These authors are destined to become trailblazers in the genre of psychological suspense books.”
— Nancy Simpson-Brice, The Book Vault, Oskaloosa, IA

Winter 2018 Reading Group Indie Next List


The Wife Between Us has one of the best surprises I have ever read in a suspense novel! It helps that you become easily intrigued with the intertwined stories of a recent divorcée stuck in her downward spiral and a young woman who is so in love with her fiancé she is willing to overlook all niggling doubts. Then you discover that these wholly relatable characters, in whom you have become so invested, are not necessarily what they seem. Seamlessly moving between characters and effortlessly increasing the suspense, authors Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen have beautifully crafted a chilling tale about discovering that everyone wears a façade.”
— Luisa Smith, Book Passage, Corte Madera, CA

Description


The instant New York Times Bestseller!

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl." —In Touch Weekly

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

About the Author


Greer Hendricks spent over two decades as an editor. Her writing has been published in The New York Times and Publishers Weekly. The Wife Between Us is her first novel.

SARAH PEKKANEN is the internationally and USA Today bestselling author of several novels, including The Wife Between Us, The Perfect Neighbors and The Best of Us. A former investigative journalist and feature writer, her work has been published in The Washington Post, USA Today, and many others.

Praise For…


Praise for The Wife Between Us:

An instant New York Times bestseller!
A 2018 Indie Next Pick
A January 2018 Library Reads Top 10 Pick

One of...
Wall Street Journal's "6 Books to Read This Winter"
Real Simple's "Best Books of 2018"
Glamor Magazine's "All the Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2018"
Bustle's "18 Best Fiction Books of January 2018"
Goop's "12 Books for Winter Break"
Popsugar's "23 Best New Books of Winter"
Hello Giggles's "19 books we can’t wait to read in 2018"
AARP's "2018 Books Preview: Chills and Thrills"
Bookbub's "Biggest Thriller Books Coming in 2018"
Retail Me Not's "Top 35 Books of 2018"

"Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller." —Library Journal, starred review

“[A] jaw-dropping psychological thriller. This is not another eye-rolling story about the jealous ex-wife stalking her replacement...Unforgettable twists lead to shocking revelations all the way through the epilogue.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"With multiple didn't-see-that-coming twists, this tome thrills." —Us Weekly

"[A] seamless thriller that will keep readers on their toes to the very end...Readers will enjoy the dizzying back-and-forth as they attempt to figure out just who to root for and as the suspense ratchets up to one hell of a conclusion." —Booklist

"Pekkanen and Hendricks keep the suspense dial at excruciating...a complete roller coaster-ride of a novel." —The Washington Post

"In The Wife Between Us, you’ll be taken on a suspenseful roller-coaster that will keep you riveted until the last page." —Parade Magazine

"An utterly absorbing debut about a marriage gone bad with a few jaw-dropping plot twists." AARP

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." –Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

"The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." –Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

“This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!” —Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault

“Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.” —Javier Ramirez, The Book Table



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250130945
ISBN-10: 1250130948
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: October 30th, 2018
Pages: 432
Language: English