Together We Burn (Hardcover)

Together We Burn By Isabel Ibañez Cover Image
$18.99
In Stock
Anderson's Bookshop Naperville
2 on hand, as of Aug 17 5:45am
(CH TEEN INTERESTS)
Anderson's Bookshop Downers Grove
2 on hand, as of Aug 17 5:33am
(CH Y/A FICT)

Description


Isabel Ibañez's Together We Burn is a lush, enchanting standalone fantasy inspired by medieval Spain, filled with romance, adventure and just the right amount of danger.

An ancient city plagued by dragons

Eighteen-year-old Zarela Zalvidar is a talented flamenco dancer and daughter of the most famous Dragonador in Hispalia. People come for miles to see him fight in their arena, which will one day be hers. But disaster strikes during one celebratory show, and in the carnage, Zarela’s life changes in an instant.

A flamenco dancer who must become a dragon hunter to save her family legacy

With the Dragon Guild trying to wrest control of her inheritance from her, Zarela has no choice but to train to become a Dragonador. But when the most talented dragon hunter left in the land -- the infuriatingly handsome Arturo Díaz de Montserrat -- withholds his help, Zarela cannot take no for an answer. Without him, her world will burn.

About the Author


Isabel Ibañez is the author of Woven in Moonlight (Page Street), a finalist for the William C. Morris Award, and is listed among Time Magazine’s 100 Best Fantasy Books Of All Time. She was born in Boca Raton, Florida, and is the proud daughter of two Bolivian immigrants. Isabel has a profound appreciation for history and traveling and loves hosting family and friends around the dinner table. She currently lives in Asheville, North Carolina, with her husband, their adorable dog, and a serious collection of books. Say hi on social media!

Praise For…


"This beautifully written romantic fantasy features Spanish-speaking characters as well as a gripping, sexy, enemies-to-lovers romance with fierce, strong-headed protagonists who dance around—and toward—each other. At its core lies magic, a mystery that pulls no punches, and thoughtful examinations of tradition and inheritance... A terrific stand-alone fantasy."Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"Spinning magic with mystery, this gorgeous tale will light up your shelf." Booklist, Starred Review

Buzzfeed, "New Summer Books You Won’t Be Able To Put Down"

"In Together We Burn, Isabel Ibañez grounds her fantasy world in the culture of medieval Spain, including its food, art and language. Packed with high stakes, a well executed mystery and an appealingly swoony romance, Together We Burn has what it takes to entertain a wide range of genre fiction fans." -BookPage

"Together We Burn is an inferno of action-packed storytelling and banter-filled romance, set in a gloriously vivid and imaginative world. Sure to delight and surprise fans of fantasy, dragons, and stories with bold heartbeats. This one will leave you breathless!” —Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Caraval series

“I have been in love with Isabel Ibañez’s writing since day one, but she’s knocked it out of the water with Together We Burn. With lush world-building, sultry romance, and medieval magic, fantasy readers won’t be able to put this down.” - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of Defy the Night

"Isabel Ibanez has built a fantasy world like no other, a vivid spectacle painted in her signature, vibrant colors. Together We Burn is a decadent feast of YA favorites, with a fiery protagonist, a hero with secrets, and a magic that almost sparkles on the page." —Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Namesake

"Zarela’s resolve is rivaled only by Arturo’s prickliness, and together, this fierce heroine and grudging hero lit a match in my heart. Banter, angst, and romance galore!" —Shelby Mahurin, New York Times bestselling author of Blood & Honey

“Ibañez creates a richly imagined world in Together We Burn, full of endearing characters, heart-pounding romance, and a plot that sizzles. I was captivated from the first page. A lush, thrilling read.” —Rebecca Ross, author of Sisters of Sword & Song

"Together We Burn blazes with excitement and danger from the very first page, making it un-put-downable! The descriptions of the dragons and the dresses and the meals all sizzle with color and vibrancy. Zarela is a fiery protagonist whose inner strength and conviction makes her easy to root for and admire—and that slow burn romance is swoonworthy!" —Romina Garber, author of Cazadora

"Readers will savor the plentiful action; richly textured, medieval Spain-inspired backdrop; and Arturo’s efforts to change attitudes toward dragons." —Publishers Weekly

"Ibañez gives readers an elaborately built, fabulously unique world with an expansive history, all laid out through Zarela’s engaging, brisk narration. The dragons are especially fascinating, with different breeds and characteristics accordingly, and the fighting and training scenes have an edge-of-your-seat tension that absolutely compels readers to the next page...there’s plenty of heat, drama, and fantasy to keep readers entranced." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"A slow burn and engaging tale that you will not be able to put down. Full of rich drama, great storytelling and writing, as well as powerful characters, this story will capture your attention with its originality and sweeping imagery." —BookRiot

"Inspired by medieval Spain, this kaleidoscopic epic YA fantasy has it all and more: adventure, romance, magic… and dragons!" -Ms. Magazine

"With a banter-filled romance and action-packed story, this YA fantasy is perfect for fans of All the Stars and Teeth and Serpent & Dove.” —Apartment Therapy

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250803351
ISBN-10: 1250803357
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Publication Date: May 31st, 2022
Pages: 368
Language: English