The Civil War of Amos Abernathy (MP3 CD)

The Civil War of Amos Abernathy By Michael Leali, Mark Sanderlin (Read by) Cover Image
$41.99
Call for price

July/August 2022 Kids Indie Next List


“When Amos and his friends discover that stories of BIPOC and queer people just weren’t being told, they set out to change the narrative of their local living history. Amos’ courage will inspire readers like him to be completely themselves.”
— Kelly Barth, Raven Book Store, Lawrence, KS

Description


A heartfelt debut novel about a boy's attempt to find himself in the history he loves--perfect for fans of Dear Sweet Pea and From the Desk of Zoe Washington.

Amos Abernathy lives for history. Literally. He's been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there's something missing from history: someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Civil War soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he'd lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in his newfound friend by writing letters in his journal--and hatches a plan to share Albert's story with his divided twenty-first century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it's one that Amos is ready to fight.

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and LGBTQ+ community will delight readers of Ashley Herring Blake, Alex Gino, or Maulik Pancholy.

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Product Details
ISBN: 9798200971275
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: June 7th, 2022
Language: English