Ann Zhao

April 19 @ 7 PM

Anderson's Bookshop - Naperville
123 West Jefferson Avenue, Naperville, IL

Join Anderson’s Bookshop for an in-person event and signing line with author Ann Zhao, to celebrate the release of Dear Wendy, on Friday, April 19th at 7pm in our Naperville Store. The author will be masked and encourages that you wear one as well.

Event Format

  • Author Presentation, Audience Q&A
  • Signing & Photo Line

Pre-registration is required for this event because space is limited.

 

TICKETS & MORE INFO

 

More about Dear Wendy:  

Dear Wendy's Sophie and Jo, two aromantic and asexual college students, engage in an online feud while unknowingly becoming friends in real life, in this dual POV Young Adult contemporary debut from Ann Zhao

Sophie Chi is in her first year of college (though her parents wish she'd attend a “real” university rather than a liberal arts school) and has long accepted her aroace (aromantic and asexual) identity. She knows she’ll never fall in love, but she enjoys running an Instagram account that offers relationship advice to students at her school. No one except her roommate can know that she’s behind the incredibly popular “Dear Wendy” account.

When Joanna “Jo” Ephron (also a first-year aroace college student) created their “Sincerely Wanda” account, it wasn’t at all meant to take off or be taken seriously—not like Wendy’s. But now they might have a rivalry of sorts with Wendy’s account? Oops. As if Jo’s not busy enough having existential crises over gender identity, whether she’ll ever truly be loved, and the possibility of her few friends finding The One then forgetting her!

While tensions are rising online, Sophie and Jo grow closer in real life, especially once they realize their shared aroace identity and start a campus organization for other a-spec students. Will their friendship survive if they learn just who’s behind the Wendy and Wanda accounts?

Exploring a-spec identities, college life, and more, while perfect for fans of Alice Oseman’s Loveless, this is ultimately a love story about two people who are not—and will not—be in love!

 

About the Author: 
Ann Zhao (she/her) is a graduate of Wellesley College, where she studied linguistics with a minor in women’s and gender studies. She enjoys cooking, baking, and knitting, and she does not enjoy cleaning up after herself when she’s done with these activities. Dear Wendy is her debut novel.