Mary McCoy

Wednesday, June 16 at 7:00 PM (CST)

 

Join Anderson's Bookshops for a virtual launch event with author Mary McCoy to celebrate the release of her new novel, Indestructible Object!  Mary will be in conversation with fellow author Amy Spalding.

Perfect for fans of What If It’s Us and Mary H. K. Choi, this stunning coming-of-age novel from Printz Honor author Mary McCoy follows a Memphis teen whose quest to uncover the secrets of love reveals new truths about herself.

 

Get Your Ticket Here!

 

More about the book:

For the past two years, Lee has been laser-focused on two things: her job as a sound tech at a local coffee shop and her podcast “Artists in Love,” which she cohosts with her boyfriend Vincent.

Until he breaks up with her on the air right after graduation.

When their unexpected split, the loss of her job, and her parent’s announcement that they’re separating coincide, Lee’s plans, her art, and her life are thrown into turmoil. Searching for a new purpose, Lee recruits her old friend Max and new friend Risa to produce a podcast called “Objects of Destruction,” where they investigate whether love actually exists at all.

But the deeper they get into the love stories around them, the more Lee realizes that she’s the one who’s been holding love at arm’s length. And when she starts to fall for Risa, she finds she’ll have to be more honest with herself and the people in her life to create a new love story of her own.

Funny, romantic, and heartfelt, this is a story about secrets, lies, friendship, found family, an expired passport, a hidden VHS tape, fried pickles, the weird and wild city of Memphis, and, most of all, love.

About the author:

 

Mary McCoy is a writer and a librarian at the Los Angeles Public Library. She grew up in western Pennsylvania and studied at Rhodes College and the University of Wisconsin.  She is the author of 2019 Printz Honor Book I, ClaudiaCamp So-and-So and Dead to Me. Mary lives in Los Angeles with her family.

 

Amy Spalding is the author of several novels, including the bestselling We Used to Be Friends and The Summer of Jordi Perez (and the Best Burger in Los Angeles), which was named a best book of 2018 by NPR, the Boston Globe, Kirkus, and more.