Terri Libenson & Lily LaMotte

Thursday, October 29 at 5:30 PM (CST)

 

Join Anderson's Bookshop for a virtual event with two awesome middle grade authors:  New York Times bestselling author Terri Libenson and debut graphic novelist Lily LaMotte! They will be discussing their latest books, Becoming Brianna and Measuring Up. Also available are Terri's other new titles, You-Niquely You Interactive Journal and the Emmie and Friends 4-book boxed set.

Anderson's realizes that this is a challenging time for many people. We are offering a variety of ticket options so that you can choose what is the best fit for you right now. Every book ticket will include a signed (bookplate) copy of the book, and all donations will go towards supporting our independent small business and our employees.

 

Get Your Ticket Now!

 

 

More about the books:

New York Times bestseller! Terri Libenson returns with another endearing, relatable story of friendship and finding confidence. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm.

Middle school is full of challenges.

Everyone knows how much brainy Bri likes the spotlight (not). So why did she ever agree to something that forces her to learn a new language, give a speech, help organize a party, and juggle drama at school and home?! As the big event inches closer, Bri wonders if it’s all worth it. . . .

Told in alternating past and present chapters, Bri’s heartwarming story unfolds over the eight months leading up to her bat mitzvah—as well as over the course of the big day itself.

 

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller GirlMeasuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!

“A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.” —Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops

“A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures.” —Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má’s, seventieth birthday together.

Since she can’t go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids’ cooking contest to pay for A-má’s plane ticket! There’s just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.

And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she’s determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?